User Group Creation, Editing, and Deletion

  1. From the Settings tab, click User Management to access the Users page.

    The Users list displays.

  2. Click Groups.

    The Groups page displays the names of all configured VirtualWisdom Groups, their associated description, roles, and the date and time that the group was created or last modified.

    groups.png
  3. Click New, and select Group from the drop-down menu.

    newgroup.png

    The Create New Group page displays.

  4. Enter values for the Group Name and Description.

    newgroup1.png

    Field

    Definition

    Name

    User-defined name of the Group.Group names are case sensitive.

    Description

    User-defined description of the Group.

  5. Click Add to add members to the Group.

    The Add Members dialog displays with a tab for VW Local and a tab for LDAP.

  6. Select the checkboxes for the users in the Name column and move the users to the Selected Members column.

    The specified users are grayed out in the source box.

    newgroup2.png
  7. Click OK.

    You return to the Create New Group page.

  8. Choose a role for the Group by checking the appropriate check box.

    newgroup3.png

    The roles definitions are as follows:

    Table 67. Default VirtualWisdom Roles

    Role

    Definition

    vw-admin

    Provides full access to the VirtualWisdom user interface, including tasks on the Settings tab.

    vw-user

    Provides access to the VirtualWisdom UI, excluding access to tasks on the Settings tab. All individual reports must be shared with the vw-user role user by an administrator.

    vw-readonly

    Provides the same access to the VirtualWisdom user interface as the vw-user role, but with read-only access. A user assigned the vw-readonly role can view and interact with a topology, but cannot create a report or chart. If a report was shared with them, they are able to view it but not modify it.



  9. Add one or more email addresses in the Email To Group field.

    newgroup4.png

    Tip

    Enter addresses as a comma- or space-separated list.

  10. Click Save.

    You return to the User Management Groups page, and your newly created group is now listed in the Groups list.

    newgroup5.png

Edit a User Group

You can return to the User Group page to edit a user group, and remove or add members.

Delete a User Group

To delete a user group, click the x in the user group's row on the User Groups page. This removes the group from the portal. Any permissions that were set up using the group are removed.

deleteusergroup.png