Skip to main content

Entity Hierarchy

VW entities consist of two sets of objects: 1) those that are discovered and created automatically by the various Integrations and 2) those that are created by the user. Users may only create the seven entity types shown below: Tier, Application, Host, HBA Card, Storage Array, Storage Controller, Storage I/O Module. IPM ships with four pre-defined Tier definitions, Tier 0, Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3, but these can be replaced by the end user.


Entity type names have both external (UI) and internal representations. Import files must use the internal entity type names. Please refer to the next section for information on finding the external to internal mapping of entity type names.

Entity Type

Internal Entity Type Name

Allowed Member Entity Types






Host, HBA Card, ESX VM, Hyper-V VM, PowerVM Partition, PowerVM VIOS Partition, FC Conversation, NFS Conversation, SMB Conversation, iSCSI Conversation



HBA Card, HBA Port, Source IP Address, IP Address

HBA Card


HBA Port

Storage Array


Storage Controller, Storage I/O Module, Storage Port, Destination Ethernet Port

Storage Controller


Storage I/O Module, Storage Port, Destination Ethernet Port

Storage I/O Module


Storage Port, Destination Ethernet Port

HBA Card, Storage I/O Module and Storage Controller entities are intermediary and, as such, could be considered optional entities. Meaning, Host entities can be created directly from HBA Port entities or Source IP Addresses and Storage Array entities can be created directly from Storage Port entities and Destination Ethernet Ports. However, as explained below, there are compelling reasons to employ them in customer environments.